… and the end arrives…

So… obviously it’s been a really long time since I last blogged. For anyone who was worried, I’m not dead 🙂 Studying abroad was all about learning about myself, and it looks like one of the things I learned was that I’m not a very consistent blogger!

But, as I go back to Tulsa and TU tomorrow, I figured a closing post would be nice. So.. here’s a brief summary of everything since I last posted.  I had a great time studying abroad, it was an awesome experience, and i’m so glad for the opportunity. Thanks so much to everyone for all your support!

November

My family came and visited the week of Thanksgiving. It was a ton of fun – We did a lot of sightseeing in Salamanca, and I was able to go to Cordoba, Sevilla, and Madrid with them.

My sister and I at the cathedral in Cordoba. After seeing it in so many art history book and Spanish class posters, it was awesome to see in real life.

The Cathedral in Sevilla, a view of the tower with a few of the famous oranges as well!

Family photo on the roof of the Cathedral in Salamanca - it had an awesome view!

On Thanksgiving, ISA put together a dinner for us. While it wasn’t exactly American food, it was a nice thought. I also had a lot of fun hanging out and eating with my friends.

The ISA Thanksgiving Dinner - I'm so thankful to have made friends in Spain!

 

December

Spaniards have a bunch of holidays – In December, they get both the 6th and 8th off (the 6th is the immaculate conception, and the 8th is the Spanish Constituion day, kind-of like our 4th of July).  Since the 6th and 8th fell on Tuesday and Thursday, a lot of people take what’s called a “puente” (bridge) – Monday, Wednesday and/or Friday off as well.

I ended up going with some friends to Santiago de Compostella – the end of the pilgrimage accross Spain to Cathedral where James the Disciple’s bones are supposedly held. It was a beautiful church, and felt more authentic than a lot of the other cathedrals we visited. Santiago was a cool town – it rains *all* the time there, which means that everything is lush and green, definately different from more central Spain.

We walked along the Camino de Santiago for a little bit, it was really awesome!

Finals were a little stressful, but not too bad. We’ll find out my grades when I get my transcript within the next few months, cross your fingers!

The last evening we were in Salamanca, they had a huge New Year’s Eve celebration, called “Noche Vieja Universitaria”. (Since all the students go home and aren’t in Salamanca for New Year’s Eve, they have a special celebration two Thursdays before Christmas.) It’s become the biggest NYE party in Spain, and people from all over the country come. It was an *awesome* way to spend my last evening in Salamanca with my friends.

Plaza Mayor at the beginning of the evening, before it was packed with people.

So (!) many people in Plaza Mayor.

Before our flight home from Paris, Riley and I spent a day in Madrid and a few days in Paris. It was a lot of fun to see all the Christmas Markets, and I got to see the two things I’d missed in Paris the first time around: the Eiffel Tower at night, and the museum with Monet’s Waterlilies paintings.

Eiffel Tower! I was so glad to be able to spend the semester traveling with Riley.

Then… the flight home and Christmas! It was great to be back in America – no more ham, and hot showers! I also have loved being able to see all my friends, family, and boyfriend over Christmas break.

Thanks to everyone who read my blog, and a happy 2012 to you!

Leave a Reply

